How many planets are in our solar system?

How many planets are in our solar system?
How many planets are in our solar system?

Our Cosmic Neighborhood: How Many Planets Call the Solar System Home?

How many planets are in our solar system? Hello, curious minds! Studying Engineer here, your friendly neighborhood science enthusiast, bringing you another intriguing dose of our shared universe’s mysteries. This time, we’re going to venture together through the solar system, the very celestial neighborhood we inhabit. Specifically, let’s answer a question that I’m often asked: “How many planets are in our solar system?”

Planetary Count: The Official Stance

Firstly, you might recall from your school days, the answer is eight planets. This is the official count recognized by the International Astronomical Union (IAU), the global authority that deals with astronomical nomenclature. The list, in order of their distance from the sun, includes:

  1. Mercury
  2. Venus
  3. Earth
  4. Mars
  5. Jupiter
  6. Saturn
  7. Uranus
  8. Neptune

A fantastic resource to explore these planets in more detail is NASA’s Solar System Exploration website ( It provides a wealth of up-to-date information about each planet, along with stunning visuals and current research.

What About Pluto?

But wait a minute! What about Pluto? Those who’ve been following space news might remember that until 2006, Pluto was considered the ninth planet. The IAU, however, redefined what constitutes a planet, and poor Pluto didn’t make the cut. This led to its demotion to a ‘dwarf planet’ status. A good source to understand the reasons behind this decision is the IAU’s own explanation on their website (

Dwarf Planets and Beyond

Interestingly, in addition to the eight planets, our solar system also hosts several dwarf planets like Pluto, Eris, and Ceres, among others. If you’re interested in learning more about them, the Planetary Society’s website ( is an excellent resource.

In conclusion, the answer to how many planets are in our solar system depends on the definition you follow. If you stick with the IAU’s definition, we’ve got eight. If you decide to count dwarf planets as well, then the tally increases significantly. Either way, each celestial body, from the smallest asteroid to the largest gas giant, contributes to the intricate and captivating dance of our solar system.

In our quest for knowledge, we must remember to respect and appreciate each discovery’s nuances, as every tiny piece helps complete the puzzle of our incredible universe. Until next time, keep wondering, keep exploring, and above all, stay curious!

Other Stories

Mars: Red Planet
The Mystery of Ultra-High-Energy Cosmic Rays
Why the Universe’s Expansion Accelerates

Leave a Reply